The beginning of my journey…

Hi 🙂

For me, my health and wellness journey began probably about 4 years ago…

Around October 2016 I went to see the gynaecologist about PCOS (a condition I’d been diagnosed with for years), and I was told that there wasnt much he could do for me…come back when I’d lost weight…but with no information on how I should go about doing that other than a calorie deficit should work… (turns out for me that wasnt the case). I got home that afternoon, and I cried. I felt helpless. (The pic below was taken about a month before this, while on holiday with some friends)

Anyone would think that at this point I might have started my journey…

Anyone would think that at this point I might have started my journey…

It actually took me over a year…by which point I was heavier…struggling with depression and anxiety…and stressed out by my job.

When I realised that my physical health was impacting my mental health…this was when I knew I had to make changes…I’d met and started dating a wonderful man…and we wanted to get married (he knew about my medical condition and accepted that having children may be difficult) and he coped brilliantly with my mental health problems.

We had set a date for our wedding in July 2017, and I bought my dress October 2016 slightly on the small side (I was going to lose weight to fit into it)…October through December I tried to lose weight all the normal methods…almost starving myself some days…and I lost nothing…NOTHING!

How could I be eating barely anything…hungry all the time but not lose weight? I turned to a friend who is a dietician and she looked into it and said that it could be sugar related and that following a lowGI (essentially a diabetic diet) might help. Gutted….but I was curious…and so it began.

Published by Lexi

learning to live my best life

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started